Posted on February 5, 2016
Gluten is a protein found in many grains such as wheat, semolina, spelt, kamut, rye, and barley.
Because gluten is so ubiquitous, our government doesn’t require that it be labeled on packages, so it is often hidden under names such as hydrolyzed vegetable protein, modified food starch, or vegetable protein.
Here are ingredients you should avoid in order to ensure you are not eating gluten or wheat by another name:
Citric acid (can be fermented from wheat, corn, molasses or beets)
Modified food starch
GLUTEN-FREE LABELING DEFINITIONS
Ingredients that have been derived from wheat, barley, rye or oats that are “specially processed to remove gluten” may be found on products labeled gluten-free.